Home News Osimhen, Oshoala, Chiamaka Shines Bright at 2023 CAF Awards

Osimhen, Oshoala, Chiamaka Shines Bright at 2023 CAF Awards

Source: CAF

In a dazzling celebration of African football excellence, Nigeria’s Victor Osimhen and Asisat Oshoala emerged as the shining stars of the night, winning the Male and Female  African Player of the Year at the 2023 Confederation of African Football (CAF) Awards Gala held in Marrakech, Morocco on 11th of December, 2023.

Victor Osimhen, the 24-year-old forward, claimed the prestigious African Footballer of the Year award, marking a historic win that ended Nigeria’s 24-year wait for the coveted individual prize. 

Despite tough competition from Morocco’s Achraf Hakimi and Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah, Osimhen’s remarkable achievements with Napoli in Serie A and the Nigerian national team propelled him to this monumental accolade.

Graciously accepting the award, Osimhen attributed his success to the guidance of Nigerian legend Emmanuel Amunike and others while expressing heartfelt gratitude to fans from Nigeria and across Africa for their unwavering support throughout his journey.

Victor Osimhen

Osimhen’s stellar performance for Napoli, where he spearheaded their Serie A title victory with an unprecedented 26 league goals, not only bagged broke records but also earned him a place in Serie A’s Team of the Year and the distinction of being the first African to clinch the league’s top scorer award.

He had bagged the Italian Footballers’ Association (AIC) Footballer of the Year earlier. His exceptional form also culminated in a remarkable ninth-place finish in the Ballon d’Or rankings, making him the highest-ranked African in the award’s history.

Despite battling injuries in the current season, Osimhen’s recognition as the African Footballer of the Year is a testament to his outstanding contributions to club and country throughout the year.

Also, Asisat Oshoala, the prolific Super Falcons striker playing for Barcelona Femeni, etched her name in history by claiming her sixth African Women’s Player of the Year Award. Oshoala’s pivotal role in Barcelona Femeni’s UEFA Women’s Champions League triumph and her continued excellence on the field secured her a well-deserved place among football’s elite.

Asisat Oshoala

Another addition for the night was Chiamaka Nnadozie, the Paris FC captain, who made her mark by clinching her inaugural CAF Women’s Goalkeeper of the Year award. The Super Falcons also won the Best National Team of the Year (Female), while the National Team of the Year (Men) was awarded to Morocco.

Nnadozie’s standout performances between the posts earned her this groundbreaking recognition, surpassing formidable competitors Khadija Er-Rmichi of Morocco and South Africa’s Andile Dlamini.

Read Also

Ohtani Secures Groundbreaking $700M Deal with Dodgers

In the coaching category, South African senior women’s national team coach Desiree Ellis retained her coaching accolade, marking her continued excellence in guiding her team to victory in the TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Africa Cup of Nations and securing a second FIFA Women’s World Cup appearance.

Walid Regragui, the coach of the Moroccan national team, claimed the Male Coaching Award for leading his country to a historic World Cup semi-final run in Qatar.

Moroccan goalkeeper Yassine Bounou was honoured as the Best African Goalkeeper. 

Another notable list involves Africa’s best XI (men) by FIFPro, Andre Onana (Cameroon) – Ashraf Hakimi (Morocco), Chancel Mbemba (RD Congo), Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal) – Thomas Partey (Ghana), Andre-Frank Anguissa (Cameroon), Mohammed Kudus (Ghana), Sofiane Amrabat (Morocco) – Sadio Mane (Senegal), Victor Osimhen (Nigeria), Mohamed Salah (Egypt).

 Men's BEST XI

For the female team XI team, Andile Dlamini (South Africa) – Michelle Alozie (Nigeria), Bambani Mbane (South Africa), Osinachi Ohale (Nigeria), Lebohang Ramalepo (South Africa) – Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco), Linda Matlahalo (South Africa), Refiloe Jane (South Africa)- Barbra Banda (Zambia), Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria), Tabitha Chawinga (Malawi).

 Women's Best XI

The 2023 CAF Awards Gala was a night of triumph, honouring the outstanding talent and the monumental achievements of African football stars, cementing their places in the annals of the sport’s history.

About The Author

Related Articles

Rivers Crisis Youth Protesters Remove Wike's Statue in Obio-Akpor LGA

PDP BOT Chair Cautions Tinubu Against Declaring State of Emergency in Rivers

The Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Board of Trustees, BoT,...

Turkey Wildfire

Massive Wildfire In Southeast Turkey Kills 11, Injures Dozens

A massive wildfire swept through Turkey’s mainly Kurdish southeast, killing 11 people...

Gunmen Pregnant Woman Ogun

Gunmen Abduct Pregnant Woman Due For Delivery In Ogun State

Gunmen have kidnapped a pregnant woman, known as Mrs. Ogunbunmi, in Abeokuta,...


Personal Data of Nigerians Sold Online for 100 Naira — PIN

Sensitive personal and financial data of Nigerians are being sold online for...