Home News Three New Lawmakers Sworn into 10th National Assembly

Three New Lawmakers Sworn into 10th National Assembly

10th National Assembly Swear-In Three New Lawmakers into Office
10th National Assembly, Abuja

Three new lawmakers have been sworn into the 10th National Assembly. The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, directed the Clerk of the Senate, Chinedu Akubueze, to administer the oath of office to the senators today at about 11:45 a.m.

The new lawmakers representing Plateau North, Pam Dachungyang, Musa Mustapha of Yobe East, and Anthony Ani in the representation of Ebonyi South constituency have taken their seats in the senate building.

Following their oath of office and exchanging pleasantries, Akpabio handed each a copy of the senate standing rules.

Recall that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on February 3rd, conducted a bye-election in Yobe East and Ebonyi South and a re-rerun election in Plateau North, of which the new senators were declared winners in their respective constituencies.

By this, the former Minority Leader, Simon Mwadkwon of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who was sacked by the Court of Appeal last November, has been replaced with Mr Dachungyang, a member of the Action Democratic Party (ADP).

With the combination of the political parties in the upper chamber, the new Plateau North senator will be the only ADP member in the Senate.

Mr Ani, who is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), was replaced by the Minister of Works, David Umahi, who resigned from the upper chamber after he was appointed as a minister, while Mr Mustapha, a member of the APC replaced, Ibrahim Geidam, the minister of Police Affairs who also resigned after he was appointed as a minister.

According to the final results declared by the INEC, Mr Dachungyang won the re-run in his constituency with 122,442 votes, while Mr Mustapha scored 68,778 votes and Mr Ani polled secured 46,270 votes.

Read more: Joeboy Teases New Single with Warner Music

About The Author

Related Articles

Bandits Attack

Bandits Kill Two, Abduct NYSC Members on Ifon/Owo Road in Ondo

According to reports, bandits launched a deadly attack on passengers travelling along...

Police suspected Kidnappers

Lagos Police Unable to Identify 9 Killed Suspected Kidnappers in Mushin

The Lagos State Police Command has said it cannot identify the nine...

Enugu Anti-malaria Drugs

Enugu: Health Director Cautions Against Unnecessary Use Of Anti-Malaria Drugs

Dr Uchechukwu Okenwa, Director of Public Health and Disease Control at the...

Ethiopian Airlines Removes Passenger to Accommodate Minister on Flight
Human RightsNews

Ethiopian Airlines Removes Female Passenger to Accommodate Minister on Flight

A female passenger was removed from her seat without an apology from...