Home Entertainment 10th Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards Nominees Announced with Snubs and Surprises

10th Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards Nominees Announced with Snubs and Surprises


Multichoice Nigeria has unveiled the nominees for the 10th Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards, set to take place on May 11, 2024, at Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos State. The AMVCA, an annual celebration of excellence in television and film, promises to be a night to remember.

Among the nominees are outstanding contenders like “National Treasure” by Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay), “Jagun Jagun” by Femi Adebayo, and “Skinny Girls in Transit” by Bunmi Ajakaiye and Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi, showcasing the diversity and talent within the African entertainment industry.

However, notable omissions have stirred conversation among fans and critics alike. Ifan Ifeanyi’s captivating short film “The Boy Who Never Falls” failed to secure a nomination, leaving many surprised by the oversight. Additionally, Chimezie Imo’s stellar performance in “Breath of Life” as a supporting actor was overlooked, despite his compelling portrayal.

In the best writing category, there is intrigue surrounding the nominations, with standout works like “Slum King” by Donald Tombia and Ifeanyi Barbara Chidi drawing attention for their exceptional storytelling.

Moreover, fans have expressed disappointment over the absence of Tobi Makinde, Jidekene Achufusi, and Uzor Arukwe from the Best Supporting Actor category for their outstanding performances in “A Tribe Called Judah.” While Timini Egbuson’s portrayal was commendable, many felt that one of the aforementioned actors deserved recognition for their contributions to the film.

Despite the snubs, the AMVCA remains a beacon of recognition for African talent, celebrating creativity and innovation in the entertainment industry. As the countdown to the awards ceremony begins, anticipation mounts for a night of glamour, excitement, and well-deserved accolades.

Below are some of the nominations for this year’s award.

Best Digital Content

  • National Treasure – Adebola Adeyela (Lizzy Jay)
  • Medical Negligence and Copyright Infringement – Isaac Ayomide Olayiwola (Layi Wasabi)
  • Hello Neighbour – Elozonam Ogbolu, Lina Idoko, and Jemima Osunde
  • The Boyfriend – Maryam Apaokagi-Greene

Best Indigenous Language Film (West Africa)

  • Mami Wata (CJ Fiery Obasi)
  • Jagun Jagun (Femi Adebayo)
  • Ijogbon (Kunle Afolayan)
  • Orisa (Odunlade Adekola)
  • Nana Akoto (Kwabena Gyansah)

Best Indigenous Language Film (East Africa)

  • Where The River Divides
  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)
  • Wandongwa
  • Nakupenda
  • Itifaki

Best Indigenous Language Film (South Africa)

  • Service To Heart
  • Uncle Limbani
  • Motshameko O Kotsi

Best Multichoice Talent Factory Movie

  • Grown
  • Her Dark Past
  • Somewhere in Kole
  • Full-Time Husband
  • The 11th Commandment
  • Mfumukazi

Best Scripted M-Net Original

  • Slum King
  • Half Open Window
  • Itura
  • The Passenger
  • Magic Room

Best Unscripted M-Net Original

  • What Will People Say
  • The Irabors’ Forever After
  • Nwuyee Bekee (Foreign Wives)
  • Date My Family Zambia
  • Royal Qlique (Season 2)

Best Indigenous M-Net Original

  • The Passenger
  • Nana Akoto
  • Apo
  • Irora Iya
  • Love Transfusion (Kiapo Cha Damu)

Best Short Film

  • T’egbon T’aburo
  • Broken Mask
  • Eighteenth Year
  • Man and Masquerades
  • A Place Called Forward

Best Supporting Actor

  • Alexx Ekubo (Afamefuna)
  • Demola Adedoyin (Breath of Life)
  • Ibrahim Yekini (Jagun Jagun: The Warrior)
  • Gregory Ojefua (This is Life)
  • Timini Egbuson (A Tribe Called Judah)
  • Levi Chikere (Blood Vessel)
  • Ropo Ewenla (Over the Bridge)

Best Supporting Actress

  • Joke Silva (Over the Bridge)
  • Fathia Williams (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Bimbo Akintola (The Black Book)
  • Genoveva Umeh (Breath of Life)
  • Eliane Umuhire (Omen)
  • Tana Adelana (Ijogbon – Chaos)
  • Ejiro Onojaife (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)

Best Lead Actor

  • Wale Ojo (Breath of Life)
  • Stan Nze (Afamefuna)
  • Marc Zinga (Omen)
  • Gideon Okeke (Egun)
  • David Ezekiel (Blood Vessel)
  • Richard Mofe Damijo (The Black Book)
  • Adedimeji Lateef (Jagun Jagun – The Warrior)
  • Gabriel Afolayan (This is Lagos)

Best Lead Actress

  • Segilola Ogidan (Over The Bridge)
  • Lucie Debay (Omen)
  • Omowunmi Dada (Asiri Ade)
  • Ireti Doyle (The Origin: Madam Koi Koi)
  • Adaobi Dibor (Blood Vessel)
  • Evelyne Ily (Mami Wata)
  • Kehinde Bankole (Adire)
  • Funke Akindele (A Tribe Called Judah)

Best Cinematography

  • Mami Wata
  • Blood Vessel
  • Over The Bridge
  • Breath of Life
  • Jagun Jagun (The Warrior)
  • Ijogbon (Chaos)
  • Omen

Best Editing

  • Chuka Ejorh And Onyekachi Banjo
  • Holmes Awa
  • Alex Kamau And Victor Obok
  • Dayo Nathaniel
  • Antonio Ribeiro
  • Nathan Delannoy

Best Sound Design

  • Ava Momoh (Over the Bridge)
  • Daniel Pellerin and Amin Bhatia (Kipkemboi)
  • Grey Jones Ossai x2 (Breathe of Life and Blood Vessel)
  • Samy Bardet (Mami Wata)

Best Art Direction

  • Blood Vessel (Victor Akpan)
  • Over The Bridge (Abisola Omolade)
  • Breath of Life (Okechukwu Frost Nwankwo, Kelechi Odu)
  • The Black Book (Pat Nebo and Chima Temple)
  • Jagun Jagun: The Warrior (Tunji Afolayan)
  • Mami Wata (C.J Fiery Obasi)
  • Omen (Eve Martin)

Best Costume Design

  • Over The Bridge – Demola Adeyemi
  • Fumilayo Ransome – Kuti (Bolanle Austen-Peters, Ituen Basi, Folake Coker, Clement Effanga)
  • Jagun Jagun (Lola Awe)
  • Mami Wata (Bunmi Demilola Fashina)
  • Breath of Life (Daniel Obasi)

Best Makeup

  • Over The Bridge (Francesca Otaigbe)
  • Mami Wata (Campbell Precious Arebamen)
  • Mojisola (Hadizat Gambo)
  • Jagun Jagun (Hakeem Onilogbo)
  • A Tribe Called Judah (Feyisayo Oyebisi)

Best Writing TV series

  • Skinny Girls in Transit (s7)
  • Wura (s2)
  • Visa On Arrival
  • MTV Shuga Naija
  • Volume
  • Masquerades of Aniedo
  • Slum King

Best Writing Movie

  • Breathe Of Life – BB Sasore
  • Over The Bridge – Tosin Otudeko
  • Fumilayo Ransome Kuti – Tunde Babalola
  • Jagun Jagun – Adebayo Tijani
  • Afamefuna – Anyanwu Sandra Adaora
  • ATCJ – Funke Ayotunde Akindele, Collins Okoh & Akinlabi Ishola
  • Mami Wata – CJ Obasi

Best Documentary

  • Ormoilaa Ogol (The Strong One)
  • Lobola – A Bride’s True Price?
  • Empalikino (Forgiveness)
  • The Water Manifesto: Osun (Water For Gold)
  • Sowing Hope

Best Series (Scripted)

  • Volume
  • Wura (s2)
  • Slum King
  • Itura
  • Chronicles

Best Series (Unscripted)

  • Lol Naija (s1)
  • Nightlife in Lasgidi
  • The Real Housewives of Lagos
  • Gh Queens (s2)
  • Mutale Mwanza Unscripted (s1)

Best Director

  • Moses Inwang (Blood Vessel)
  • Adebayo Tijani & Tope Adebayo (Jagun Jagun)
  • BB Sasore (Breath of Life)
  • Johnscott Enah (Half Heaven)
  • C. J. Fiery Obasi (Mami Wata)
  • Kayode Kasum (Afamefuna)
  • Tolu Ajayi (Over The Bridge)

About The Author

Related Articles


Celine Dion To Make Return At Paris Olympics Opening Ceremony

Celine Dion is set to make a highly anticipated return to the...

Netflix Subscription Prices Nigeria

Netflix Increases Subscription Prices In Nigeria For The Second Time In 3 Months

Netflix has raised its subscription prices again in Nigeria. The Premium Plan...

Netflix co-founder Hastings Kamala Harris

Netflix Co-Founder Reed Hastings Donates $7 Million To Support Kamala Harris’ Presidential Campaign

Netflix co-founder Reed Hastings has made a significant political contribution, donating $7...


Ayra Starr To Make Her Debut At The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

Nigerian superstar Ayra Starr is set to make a significant mark on...