Home News PDP Gov Forum donates N100m to Plateau attack victims

PDP Gov Forum donates N100m to Plateau attack victims

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Governors Forum has called on the Federal Government to accelerate efforts to bring State Police into action. The Forum made the call in Jos Today, February 1, when it paid a condolence visit to their counterpart, Governor Caleb Mutfwang of Plateau State.

Jayfm reported that the Chairman of the Forum and governor of Bauchi State, Bala Muhammed, who delivered a speech on behalf of the six other governors present, said that state police has become essential due to the rising insecurity across the country.

He said, “We have come to register our sympathy to you over the crisis you have been confronted with and commend your excellent handling of the situation despite the court battles you had to handle. Nigerians want to sleep with their eyes closed and go about their normal duties peacefully; that is why we’re calling on the Federal Government to up its game by considering the establishment of state police in the country.” 

Muhammed said the Forum would continue to stand by him in the spirit of “camaraderie” to cross the hurdles facing the state. The Forum donated N100 million to support victims of the attacks in the state. 

Governor Mutfwang appreciated the PDP Governors for their kindness while expressing resilience in the fight against insecurity in the state. “We’re also trying to ensure that we build inter and intra-community harmony as we need unity across the divides of faith and ethnicity; otherwise, it will be difficult for the government to succeed as there would not be trust,” he said.

Mutfwang said it has become imperative to deliver good governance to the people as opposition governors as it would serve as their selling point to the people

Other governors present include Seyi Makinde, Oyo, Ahmed Fintiri, Adamawa, Peter Mbah, Enugu, Godwin Obaseki, Edo and Ademola Adeleke, and Osun. 

Meanwhile, the Plateau State Governor had constituted a committee to handle related issues in the state and make recommendations to the government on steps to take.  

The 10-member committee include AVM. Napoleon Bali (Rtd) as Chairman and Arc. Samuel N Jatau as secretary. Others include HRH Da Gyang Buba, Prof Ganyir Lombin, PIDAN Rep, Brig Gen GG Ship (Rtd), DIG Felix Vwamhi (Rtd), DIG Habila Jwalshak (Rtd), Major Tohoman Daffi (Rtd) and Coordinator, Operation Rainbow. 

About The Author

Related Articles

Bayer Leverkusen

Bayer Leverkusen win first Bundesliga title after 120-years

Bayer Leverkusen secured their first-ever Bundesliga trophy in their 120-year history, toppling...

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has announced a significant breakthrough in its ongoing investigation into financial misappropriation within the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs.

EFCC Recovers $445,000, N3 Billion in Ongoing Probe of Humanitarian Affairs Ministry

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) has announced a significant breakthrough...

Disco: For the umpteenth time, Nigeria's national grid collapses again

For the umpteenth time, Nigeria’s national grid collapses

Africa’s most prosperous oil-producing country, Nigeria, has been thrown into yet another...