Home News AFCON 2024: Poseiro Release Players List, Osimhen to Captain Eagles

AFCON 2024: Poseiro Release Players List, Osimhen to Captain Eagles


As the Super Eagles are gearing up for their quest for a fourth AFCON title in the forthcoming African Cup of Nations tournament in Cote d’Ivoire, the optimism is high for fans home and abroad.

Coach Jose Peseiro unveiled his final 25-man squad on Friday, December 29, 2023, aiming to lead his team to glory in the tournament scheduled from January 13 to February 11, 2024.

According to the team’s schedule released by the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), the squad is expected to gather in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates, for a week-long training camp starting January 2, 2024.

All 25 invited players are anticipated to arrive in Abu Dhabi by that date, preparing for their campaign.

The training camp will be a crucial period for the team, with intense sessions aimed at sharpening their skills and cohesion.

The Super Eagles will undergo rigorous preparations until Tuesday, January 9, before returning to Lagos.

After their training stint in Abu Dhabi, the team is scheduled to depart for Abidjan, the capital of Côte d’Ivoire, on Wednesday, January 10, where they will commence their AFCON journey.

Their opening match is set against Equatorial Guinea on January 14, marking the beginning of their pursuit of continental glory.

Coach Peseiro’s final selection for the tournament includes a mix of experienced campaigners and talented young prospects.

The Super Eagles, drawn in Group A alongside hosts Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea Bissau, are determined to navigate through a challenging path to secure their place in the tournament’s latter stages.

Full List

Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany).

About The Author

Related Articles

Rivers Crisis Youth Protesters Remove Wike's Statue in Obio-Akpor LGA

PDP BOT Chair Cautions Tinubu Against Declaring State of Emergency in Rivers

The Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Board of Trustees, BoT,...

Turkey Wildfire

Massive Wildfire In Southeast Turkey Kills 11, Injures Dozens

A massive wildfire swept through Turkey’s mainly Kurdish southeast, killing 11 people...

Gunmen Pregnant Woman Ogun

Gunmen Abduct Pregnant Woman Due For Delivery In Ogun State

Gunmen have kidnapped a pregnant woman, known as Mrs. Ogunbunmi, in Abeokuta,...


Personal Data of Nigerians Sold Online for 100 Naira — PIN

Sensitive personal and financial data of Nigerians are being sold online for...